h1

A Facebook Fast

December 3, 2008

So, last night, I decided to take a Facebook break.

For the last two years, I’ve hardly gone 48 hours without checking it.  In fact, I doubt I’ve gone more than 24 hours at any point since I got it.  And that is sad.  Plus, with the iPhone, it’s always there.  Always.  I’ve never been able to sit still, and with facebook easily at my fingertips, there was no need to.

A couple of months ago, I took a blog break because I realised as I was experiencing things, I was thinking about how I’d blog them.  The words I’d use, the way the story would unfold.  So I stopped blogging for a while: it was too distracting.

But the thing about that is it actually makes me a better writer.  By thinking about how a write, I am improving my skills.

Facebook, however, is a different matter.  There is nothing to be gained from obsessive facebooking, and there’s a whole lot to be lost.  Not the least of which is time.

Sure, Facebook is a good tool for reconnecting with those with whom you have genuinely lost contact, but beyond that, it’s useless.  Really, it’s a performance.  You perform your identity, your friendships, your relationships, before a stage of people you loosely classify as “friends”.  And really, the performance undermines the reality.  What’s the point of posting on someone’s wall instead of writing a text?  Why does that communication need to be something everyone watches?  It’s utterly unnecessary.  And, furthermore, it’s stupid.

You can’t put your personality on a Facebook page or on a Myspace.  You can’t use books and TV shows and quotes and top friends to represent yourself.  It might be how you want to present yourself to others, but that’s all it is.

And don’t even get me started on those stupid rate people applications.  They are utterly moronic.  Do you REALLY need to know that you are the rated the 4th best person to have dinner with?  That you have the 18th best sense of style?  It’s ridiculous, it’s meaningless and it’s kind of pathetic, seeking that kind of validation.  And from whom… people with whom you went to primary school?

Oh, I’ve done it.  I’ve done it a thousand times (not the rate people, but other Facebooky things),  but I don’t want to anymore.  My friendships are private.  My relationships are private.  What I do on a Saturday night is private.  Sure, I blog about stuff, but I blog about things in context, not for the mere point of putting it on display for others.

That being said, perhaps I should delete my props to my little Bro post… though he needs the additional traffic to his blog 😉

6 comments

  1. Hey Erin
    I don’t think you should worry at all about the process of thinking about your writing, I mean there’s nothing wrong with planning a story you will tell on your blog while your experiencing it, this is how Jack Keroac wrote virtually all his stories, by making notes as they happened. This is also how I write my tales of my adventures, so go with what works for you and don’t worry about it at all. The only important thing is building our writers muscles!
    Peace
    Glen


  2. why isn’t “his blog” a hyperlink 😉


  3. […] things i wonder about facebook My sister has recently gone off facebook! It got me thinking about Facebook […]


  4. A mere oversight, now corrected.


  5. beautiful – an all time high of 29 hits!


  6. I agree that facebook is pretty annoying. I deleted all the people I had “friended” for no reason other than I felt obliged after either meeting them once, or sharing a packet of chips in kindergarten. But I keep it because it is a handy place to put out event information. I’m trying to get back into writing letters to people, remember handwriting to a penpal? That is my current project! Although the content might be more interesting upon my return from overseas. Actually, it is probably worth mentioning that its almost impossible to buy writing paper now.



Leave a Reply

