h1

Weekday lunchtime blogging: Christmas Carols

December 8, 2008

On my way to work this morning, I listened to Sufjan Stevens’ Christmas Carols albums.  Not all of them, of course, but some.  The Sufjan album really is wonderful, because he sings lots of the great carols- the ones that tell the whole story, not just the beginning.

It’s such a shame that so many Christmas Carols- and I mean real carols, not stupid songs about Santa- are focused on the manger and the stable.  They tell the start of the story, but not the end.  And that is why I love What Child is This (I am desperately searching for Sufjan’s mind-blowing version of this for SLOTW), Hark! The Herald Angels Sing, God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen, Oh Holy Night (an equally phenomenal version… the moment the drums join in at 2:40 is an amazing musical moment ) and a few others.

Anyway, Sufjan sings Come Thou Fount of Ev’ry Blessing on the album, and on top of being truly beautiful song, the word are truly lovely.  Like Holy Holy Holy, I’m not sure if it is, strictly speaking, a Christmas song, but it’s so beautiful, I had to share it.  Below is the video- a live version with some rather unfortunate notes, I’m sorry-, and the amazing words.  This link is for the record version, which is rather more polished.

Come, Thou Fount of every blessing,
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace;
Streams of mercy, never ceasing,
Call for songs of loudest praise.
Teach me some melodious sonnet,
Sung by flaming tongues above.
Praise the mount, I’m fixed upon it,
Mount of Thy unchanging love.

Here I raise my Ebenezer;
Here there by Thy great help I’ve come;
And I hope, by Thy good pleasure,
Safely to arrive at home.
Jesus sought me when a stranger,
Wandering from the fold of God;
He, to rescue me from danger,
Interposed His precious blood.

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be
Let that grace now, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

Come, Thou Fount of every blessing,
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace;
Streams of mercy, never ceasing,
Call for songs of loudest praise.
Teach me some melodious sonnet,
Sung by flaming tongues above.
Praise the mount, I’m fixed upon it,
Mount of Thy unchanging love.

Leave a Reply

